Wladimir Peter Köppen Award year, Universität Hamburg’s Cluster of Excellence "Integrated Climate System Analysis and Prediction" (CliSAP) nominates excellent doctoral theses in climate and Earth system research for the Wladimir Peter Köppen Award. The award is worth €5000 and targets talented young researchers who have completed their doctorate in a German-speaking country. The doctoral dissertation can be either in German or English. At the time of application, the completion of the doctoral thesis may not date back more than two years. The maximum age for participation is thirty years.

All doctoral supervisors, professors, and research group leaders are welcome to nominate doctoral dissertations.

Deadline for application 30 September 2018

Briese Award for Marine Sciences

Since 2010 the shipping company Briese Schiffahrts GmbH & Co. KG (Leer, Germany), together with the Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research Warnemünde (IOW), grants the „BRIESE-award for Marine Science”. This annual award honors exceptional doctoral theses in marine science. The dissertations should closely relate to the use of research vessels and to the development of technologies and/or techniques of data acquisition at sea. Primary criterions for the award are the outstanding results of the dissertation and their importance for the marine science. The award is endowed with price money of €5000.

Application is open to scientists who graduated within the last 2 years from a German university with grades of very good (magna cum laude) or with honors (summa cum laude).

Deadline for application 30 September 2018
More information: Download call 2018


Annette Barthelt-Stiftung e.V.

Ausgezeichnet werden herausragende wissenschaftliche Arbeiten einer Teildisziplin der Meeresforschung, der maritimen Technik und Seefahrt oder interdisziplinäre Arbeiten, die im Zusammenhang mit deutschen meereskundlichen Forschungsaktivitäten stehen.

Bewerbungsschluss: 1. November 2017
weitere Informationen: Ausschreibung 2018

KlarText Preis für Wissenschaftskommunikation

Bewerben können sich alle Wissenschaftler, die 2018 in Biologie, Chemie, Informatik, Geowissenschaften, Mathematik, Neurowissenschaften oder Physik eine Doktorarbeit geschrieben haben. Wer in einem angrenzenden Fachgebiet promoviert wurde, seine Arbeit aber einem der sieben Bereiche zuordnen kann, darf sich ebenfalls gerne bewerben.

Bewerbungsschluss: 28. Februar 2019

Bernd Rendel Prizes (1500€ each)

The prize is awarded to early career geoscientists who have graduated, but do not yet hold a doctorate, and who have demonstrated great potential in their scientific career.
The award must be used for scientific purposes, e.g. enabling prizewinners to attend international conferences and congresses.
Researchers from natural-science oriented fields in geoscience are eligible to receive the prize.
Selection criteria include the quality and originality of previous research results or work in progress.
The nominees’ future career plans and statements on the intended use of the prize money are also key selection criteria. Nominations may be submitted either by the researchers themselves, or by any researcher or academic working in a closely related field.

Deadline: 15 February 2019